Fritz Turner Award

Since 1981, the South Carolina State Association of Fire Chiefs has presented the **Fritz Turner Award** to the top fire chief (paid or volunteer) in the state. The award is considered the most prestigious award that can be given by the South Carolina State Association of Fire Chiefs. Fritz Turner was the first South Carolina State Fire Marshal. He dedicated his career to serving the citizens of South Carolina as well as the South Carolina Fire Service. To honor Fritz Turner's dedication and legacy, the Association is honored to have such an award be given to a fire chief or fire marshal.

Guidelines

Any current member of the South Carolina State Association of Fire Chiefs who has excelled in their dedication and work to develop public safety, harmony, fellowship, and leadership for the betterment of the fire service shall meet the criteria for submission for the award.

Nominations can be made by any member of the South Carolina State Association of Fire Chiefs, the Mayor, City Administrator or Manager, or any member of City Council, Chairman of a Public Service District Commission, Administrator/Manager of a Public Service District, or Commissioners of a Public Service District, the Chairman of a County Council, Administrator, Manager/Supervisor of a County Council government, or any member of County Council, provided that such person submitting the nomination is a member currently serving a term of office, or currently employed by the Council or Commissions and said person may be considered the employer of the nominee.

The nomination of a current member must be a written letter and resume explaining how the nominee meets the guidelines set above. All nominations must be mailed to the Executive Director of the South Carolina State Association of Fire Chiefs by July 1st of each year. The Executive Director shall forward nominations and resumes to the appointed Awards Committee for review. The Awards Committee will review the nominations within thirty (30) days following the July 1st date to decide who will receive the award.

Mail Nominations to:



210 Guthrie Rd Belton, SC 29627