header photo

South Carolina State Association of Fire Chiefs

Blog Search


There are currently no blog comments.

2018 Wildfire Mitigation Awards now accepting nominations. Nominate today!


IAFC logo

International Association of Fire Chiefs

Now Accepting Nominations for 2018 Wildfire Mitigation Awards

The International Association of Fire Chiefs , National Association of State Foresters, National Fire Protection Association and USDA Forest Service are now accepting nominations for the 2018 Wildfire Mitigation Awards.  
The Wildfire Mitigation Awards are the highest national honor one can receive for outstanding work and significant program impact in wildfire preparedness and mitigation.  
The three award categories are: 

  • National Wildfire Mitigation Award 
  • National Mitigation Hero Award 
  • Wildfire Mitigation Legacy Award

These awards are designed to recognize outstanding service in wildfire preparedness and safety across a broad spectrum of activities and among a variety of individuals and organizations. By honoring these achievements, the award sponsors also seek to increase public recognition and awareness of the value of wildfire-mitigation efforts.  
The 2018 Wildfire Mitigation Awards will be presented in February at the Wildland-Urban Interface Conference in Reno, Nevada.



Review award criteria (PDF) and submit a nomination by October 31.

For more information, contact Meghan Rhodes at

or 703-896-4839



Go Back